• NHPS Office of Special Education

     

    The Special Education & Student Services Department provides services to students determined to have a disability that affects access to general education curriculum. The services are determined at the student's Planning and Placement Team (PPT) Meeting. The goals and objectives are designed as part of the student's Individualized Educational Plan (IEP).

    Services include: specialized instruction, social work counseling, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech and language services, psychological services, assistive technology, and others as identified as appropriate by PPT team members. Services are provided for students from age 3 (ECAT) through 21. Behavioral Supports are implemented as required at a PPT. Students with disabilities may receive transition services supported by School to Work Programs and Off Campus Classrooms. Parents/caregivers and students are members of the Planning and Placement Team.

    For additional resources and information, visit the Student Services Department website.

    NHPS Student Services Department Newsletter for November 2020

  • Executive Director of Student Services Typhanie Jackson
    typhanie.jackson@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education and Psychological Services
    Kate Aniballi
    (475) 220-1782
    kate.aniballi@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education
    Stacie Melendez
    (475) 220-1771
    stacie.melendez@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education and Social Work Services
    Johanna Samberg Champion
    (475) 220-1795
    j.samberg-champion@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education
    Kara Buontempo
    (474) 220-1781
    kara.buontempo@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education and Speech, Hearing and Vision Services
    Sondi Jackson
    (475) 220-1783 

    sondi.jackson@new-haven.k12.ct.us

     

    Supervisor of Special Education
    Erin Nutter
    (475) 220-1322
    erin.nutter@new-haven.k12.ct.us