NHPS Celebrations as of 4/8/2016

·         2016 T.A.P.S Award: It is time for T.A.P.S. Awards, where we recognize and celebrate teachers, administrators, parents, support staff and community partners that go above and beyond in their efforts to help all kids engage in their learning and rise to success. All nominations are due by Tuesday, April 12th, 2016. To submit an electronic nomination, click here. To download a nomination form, click here.  
·         BOE Student Elections: On Thursday, April 7th and Friday, April 8th, New Haven high school students took part in the second election for student representatives on the Board of Education. One current tenth grade student will be elected to represent the New Haven student body from 2016-2018. The candidates have been working with passion and diligence to support the power of student voice in New Haven Public Schools. Mayor Toni Harp graced James Hillhouse in support of students casting ballots to strengthen their voice.
 ·         New Haven Promise: New Haven Promise closed out its registration season for the Class of 2016 with a record of 574 applicants ranging from 14 high schools. 143 students applied for the Passport-To-Promise second-chance scholarship. Leading applicant numbers came from Wilbur Cross (122), James Hillhouse (120), Cooperative Arts and Humanities (75), and Metropolitan Business Academy (50). Last year there were 535 applicants and 253 qualifiers. New Haven Public Schools is proud of the growth and hopes to continue to provide our students with the resources to be successful in college, career and life. To read the Independent article, click here.
·         Robotics Champs:  The Elm City Robo Squad after school program from Hill Regional Career High School competed in the FIRST Robotics Competition in Hartford and Waterbury ranking 1st in New England among 181 teams. They  brought home the Quality Award for the machines robustness in concept and fabrication, and the most prestigious Chairman’s Award for having the best model for other teams to emulate. The students will continue to compete in the FIRST World Championship in Missouri but have to raise $7,000 for travels. The squad’s mission is to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders, by engaging them in exciting mentor-based programs that build STEM skills in a diverse urban setting where they create a culture of acceptance, pride, respect, and excellence. To read the official press release and view photos, click here.
·         Health Pros: On Tuesday, March 22nd three New Haven Public Schools participated in the CT HOSA (Future Health Professionals) Spring Leadership Conference. Metropolitan results: Arantxa Uribe Guerra was installed as the CT State HOSA Vice President for Leadership Development Secretary, Luz Aidalysse Avila and Jesus Garzon won 2nd place for Public Health, Malachi Bridges won 2nd place for Medical Law and Ethics, Chao Chen won 1st place for Nutrition, Imari Clement won 1st place for Epidemiology, Kim Yeung won 2nd place for Human Growth and Development. Hyde results: Michael Garnett won 3rd in Epidemiology, Key’mari Carrington won 3rd in job seeking skills. Career results: Moxa Patel and Isabelle Frentress won 2nd place for Career Display, and Lindsey Fatone and Julisa Rivera won 3rd place for Forensic Science.
·         World Languages: On Thursday, April 7th the CT Council of Language Teachers Rhyme Celebration hosted a non- competitive poetry contest with students from King Robinson, Strong, Mauro Sheridan, Betsy Ross, East Rock and Edgewood Magnet School. Students performed opening songs in Arabic, Chinese, and French.
·         Alder Recognition: The New Haven Board of Alders recognized the student- athletes from James Hillhouse High School for their outstanding efforts to bring home championships on the track and basketball court. The schools cheerleading squad and band were also recognized for creating a culture of support and pride throughout the season. They were addressed by Alder Carlton Staggers a James Hillhouse graduate, Alder President Tyisha Walker, and Alder Jeanette Morrison. To read the Independent coverage, click here
For pdf version, click here.