Five New Haven Schools receive prestigious accolade from Magnet Schools of America

New Haven Public Schools is proud to announce that five schools have won 2015 merit awards from the Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools. Administration and staff traveled to Raleigh, NC from April 22-25 to accept their awards.
Three schools have earned the prestigious honor of being named a 2015 School of Excellence – Beecher Museum School of Arts and Sciences, Engineering & Science University Magnet School, and Ross-Woodward Classical Studies Magnet School. Two schools - Barnard Environmental Studies Magnet School and Mauro-Sheridan Science, Technology and Communications School –were named 2015 Magnet Schools of Distinction.
“Congratulations to Barnard, Beecher, ESUMS, Mauro-Sheridan, and Ross Woodward on this well-deserved and incredibly meaningful honor. These schools and their staff work hard every day to put students first and to engage young people in an educational experience rooted in a unique, challenging learning environment. You have made not only the district, but the city proud,” said Superintendent of Schools Garth Harries.
Magnet School of Merit Awards recognize magnet schools and programs that demonstrate a high commitment to academic standards, curriculum innovation, desegregation/diversity efforts, specialized teaching staffs and parent and community involvement. According to the Magnet Schools of America, this year marked a record number of applications – over 300 – from schools across the country committed to achieving the MSA’s goals “diversity, school-wide instructional approach, and academic excellence and equity.” 
Representatives in attendance:
Choice & Enrollment Office
Sherri Davis-Googe
Debbie Sumpter-Breland
Michele Bonanno
Ross Woodward (School of Excellence)
Cheryl Brown
Ashley Stockton
Beecher (School of Excellence)
Kathy Russell-Beck
Erin Michaud
ESUMS (School of Excellence)
Karissa Stolzman
Heather Toothaker
These teachers also presented at the conference: I3 Imagine, Investigate, Invent: The Power of Interdisciplinary Teaching
Barnard (School of Distinction)
Yolanda Jones-Generette
Marjorie Drucker
Strong 21 Century
Susan Denicola
Adrianna Choma
Allison Pittman
Kristen Ianniello