NHPS Announces 2010-11 TAPS Awards

Friday, May 13, 2011
Christopher Hoffman
The New Haven Public Schools today announced winners of the district’s 2010-11 TAPS Awards.
TAPS Awards are given to teachers, administrators, parents and support staff (TAPS) who go above and beyond the call of duty to help students and employees, improve their school’s or department’s atmosphere and motivate students  and coworkers.
The awards ceremony will be at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 25 at John C. Daniels School of International Communications.
“Congratulations to this year’s TAPS winners, who represent the best of the New Haven Public Schools,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Reginald Mayo said. “This year’s honorees live the TAPS ideal by routinely going above and beyond the call of duty. These teachers, administrators, parents and staff go the extra mile to help, to inspire and to improve their school or department. I thank this year’s recipients for their hard work and selfless dedication to the New Haven Public Schools, students and coworkers.”
 The 2010-11 TAPS Award winners are:

·         Susan Brown, Mauro-Sheridan Science, Technology and Communications School;
·         Marisa Asarisi, Betsy Ross Arts School;
·         Waltrina Kirkland-Mullins, Davis Street School;
·         Travis Gale, Fair Haven School;
·         Jennifer Jenkins, Engineering and Science School;
·         Latisha “Nikki” Claxton, Betsy Ross Arts School;
·         Karina Woltke, John C. Daniels School of International Communication;
·         Matthew Erickson, Edgewood School.
·         Teddi Barra, Coordinator of Transportation;
·         Cynthia Beaver, Guidance and Counseling Supervisor;
·         Myrna Montalvo, Administrator of Helene Grant Head Start;
·         Karen Lott, Principal of Brennan-Rogers School.
            Support Staff:

·         Tim Cipriano, Executive Director of  Food Services;
·         Cynthia Sanchez, Administrative Assistant, Central Office;
·         Marc Lyons, Construction Liaison;
·         Tony Sansone, Print Shop Supervisor;
·         Adrianne Douglas, Paraprofessional, Davis Street School;
·         Junie Collums, Bus Aide/ After School Helper, Augusta Lewis Troup School.


·         Erik Clemons, Hill Regional Career High School;
·         Lori Brigham, Mauro-Sheridan Science, Technology and Communications School;
·         Marisol Albarran, Columbus Family Academy;
·         Carmen Mercucci, Truman School.
Congratulations to the winners, and we look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 25.