NHPS Foundation Announces Alumni Legacy Award Recipients

Contact: Patricia A. DeMaio, Executive Director
(203) 946-8446
New Haven Public School Foundation Announces Alumni Legacy Award Recipients
NEW HAVEN, CT, March 3, 2010 ­– New Haven Public School Foundation, Inc. is holding its Third Annual Alumni Legacy Award celebration and cocktail party on Wed., Apr. 7, 2010, 6 ­– 8 p.m. at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven. Alumni Legacy Award recipients include both alumni and friends of New Haven’s public schools. In the Alumni category 2010 awards will be presented to Richard C. Cavallaro, Lonnie Garris, Ph.D, Robert J. Lane, Francisco Ortiz, Jr. and George A. Waldron. Friends of New Haven Public School awards will be presented to Lindy Lee Gold, Lesley Mills, Claudia Merson and Susan Weisselberg.
 The Legacy Award was established in 2007 to recognize the accomplishments of graduates, former students and friends of New Haven’s public schools who have brought pride and honor to our city and school district. Alumni Legacy Award recipients serve as role models, providing inspiration to our current students as they form career paths and future aspirations.
The Mission of the NHPS Foundation is to mobilize and distribute resources that support and enhance New Haven public school education. The organization evolved from School Volunteers for New Haven, Inc., an agency that has served the New Haven public school district since 1969. NHPS Foundation accomplishes its mission through three distinct programs: School Volunteers, NHPS Alumni Program and a Mini-Grant Program for New Haven Public Schools.
Those interested in attending the 2010 Alumni Legacy Awards event can R.S.V.P. by sending a check in the amount of $50 to: NHPS Foundation, Inc., 80 Hamilton Street, New Haven, CT 06511. For more information, call 203-946-6950.