Teacher of the Year

Program Overview
The NHPS Teacher of the Year Program recognizes and honors teacher excellence. It does not attempt to select the "best" teacher; rather, to identify from among many outstanding teachers of the year, one teacher to serve as a visible and vocal representative of what is best in the profession. The program celebrates excellence in teaching by recognizing teachers who have inspired a love for learning in their students and who have distinguished themselves in the profession.
The goal of the Teacher of the Year Program is to recognize and honor the tremendous contributions of outstanding classroom teachers. A classroom teacher is defined by the following criteria from the CSDE Teacher of the Year Program:

  • Have a rating of strong or exemplary the previous school year on TEVAL;
  • In the classroom 51% of the time;
  • Spends at least three or more hours per day, five days a week, for six or more calendar months during a school year in a classroom, teaching students;
  • Those who have been recognized as a District Teacher of the Year in the previous three years are not eligible for nomination;
  • Teachers who have been nominated in prior years, but did not achieve at least a finalist ranking, may be nominated the following year;

NHPS Teacher of the Year and finalists are recognized individually at an awards ceremony each year. The NHPS Teacher of the Year will then go on to be recognized at the Connecticut State Teacher of the Year Award Ceremony. For a full program overivew for NHPS Teacher of the Year please click here.

The selection process for the 2018 Teacher of the Year is underway! Please check back for ceremony details! 


NHPS Teacher of the Year Honor Roll
2017: Carlos Reyes-Courtevier,* Strong 21st Century Communications Magnet School
2016: Stephanie White, Quinnipiac Real World Math STEM School
2015: Timothy Shortt, Worthington Hooker School
2014: Garfield Pilliner, ESUMS
2013: David Low,* Sound School
2012: Deborah Wingreen, Benjamin Jepson
2011: Gloria Riley Rodriguez, Wilbur Cross High School
2010: Zakiyyah Baker, Cooperative Arts and Humanities High School
2009: Cameo Thorne, High School in the Community

* Indicates State Teacher of the Year Semi-Finalist
** Indicates State Teacher of the Year Finalist
# Indicates State Teacher of the Year